The page has moved to:
this page

Monday, April 20, 2009

West Virginia Fiction Award and Competition

(This news courtesy George Lies' WVWriters eNews list)

Shepherd University's Appalachian Heritage Literary Project announces the West Virginia Fiction Competition, a literary competition to encourage writers and storytellers, whose talent and ability in creative writing is distinctive and promising, and to foster an appreciation of Appalachian culture and values represented in the diverse writing of the region. Submissions are encouraged from any resident of West Virginia or student in West Virginia who meets the criteria below. Click here to view a list of past Fiction Competition winners.

What are the limitations upon submissions? Any original, unpublished work of fiction, between 500 and 2,500 words, one submission only. The submission may not have received any other award, recognition, or special honor. What is the deadline for submissions? May 1, 2009. Where should submissions be mailed?

West Virginia Fiction Competition
Department of English
Shepherd University
P.O. Box 5000
Shepherdstown, WV 25443-5000
Electronic submissions should be sent to

What should accompany submissions? WEB PAGE for The application form -

What prize will be awarded? $500.00 First Prize Award and possible publication, $100 each Second and Third Prize Awards.

Who will select the fiction contest winner? A panel of writers, editors, and creative writing instructors will choose finalists, and the 2009 Appalachian Heritage Writer-in-Residence, Silas House, will select first, second, and third place winners from these finalists.

The first place winner will receive the West Virginia Fiction Award and accompanying $500 prize on the night of Thursday, October 1, 2009, at the Appalachian Heritage Awards Presentation; and the winning story will be read at the Appalachian Heritage Festival Concert the following night. Both events are part of the 2009 AHWIR residency: "The History of Every Country": Place in the Poetry and Fiction of Silas House. Mr. House will present the awards and offer story critiques to the competition finalists. First, second, and third place prize winners will dine with Mr. House on the evening of the awards. The fiction competition is supported by the West Virginia Center for the Book and the Shepherd University Foundation.

When will the winner be notified? August 1, 2009.