The page has moved to:
this page

Saturday, May 08, 2010

ABZ 2010 PoetryContest

(This news courtesy of Rhonda Browning White)

ABZ will continue the ABZ Poetry Prize for a first full-length book of poems.

In 2007, David Baker selected Postcard on Parchment by Christine Stewart-Nunez. Her book was published in 2008.

In 2008, Heather McHugh selected The Other Language by Mark Brazaitis, which was published in 2009.

Most recently, Mark Halliday chose Ordinary Mourning by Carrie Shipers, which has just been published.

We are looking for original poetry manuscripts between 48-76 pages.

ABZ will publish the winning manuscript and award the author one thousand dollars and fifty copies of the winning book.

The winning manuscript this year will be chosen by Angela Ball.

Each manuscript must be bound only with a binder clip and sent in an envelope or package with a May or June 2010 postmark with a reading fee of $28.00 in US Dollars as a check or money order payable to ABZ PRESS. The deadline is June 30 2010. Include a table of contents, acknowledgments, and two title pages. One title page should have only the title. The second title page should have the author’s name, address, phone number with area code, and e-mail address. Please indicate any poetry books or chapbooks (with fewer than 48 pages) you may have published. Simultaneous submissions are OK with us. Let us know if you win another prize.

Manuscripts will not be returned. Please keep a copy of your manuscript.

To receive notice of manuscript arrival, include a stamped, self-addressed postcard.

To receive notice of contest results, you must include a stamped, self-addressed envelope. You will not receive the notice in 2010 unless you include such an envelope.

The reading fee entitles the entrant to one copy of the winning book. Copies of the book will be sent in May 2011 when the book is published.

Send manuscript to:

ABZ Poetry Prize
ABZ Press
PO Box 2746
Huntington WV 25727-2746.